Carrot Cake Candles

Carrot cake candles textFinal week in the bake-off tent…FINALS WEEK!

We’ve made it all the way through to finals week – well done everyone. There has been laugher and tears, burnt and raw bakes, and most all, lots of cups of tea! I’ve thoroughly enjoyed it, the watching and the bake along!

P1040160

What a task to come up with a bake worthy of final week. Well I wasn’t very excited by the idea of making iced buns so soon after the éclairs, and I have had rather enough of dough. A rough puff technical also sounded pretty terrible so showstopper it is! A really tricky challenge for the contestants  to make something really marvellous but also a traditional English cake.

Basics done

My favourite cake is carrot cake so I shall follow in that part in Ian’s footsteps. I also like a challenge so have baked 4 mini tin cakes! Quads are always better than a trio! These cakes are then cut into various sizes to make 5 varying cake columns which are marvellously turned into a collection of candles. I will stick with the tradition cream cheese pairing, as this is also my favourite and finished with some caramel flames.

How to make a tin cake2

Evaluation? Oh okay then.

The cakes themselves are easy to make – it can be adapted to pretty much any recipe. Perfect for the non-baker as there are no tools needed! The tins cannot be pull top (no cat food tins this time) as the lip left at the top will cause issues. The flatter the base is also the better as easier to grease and get the cooked cakes out. I used margarine for greasing the tin but oil would work equally well, maybe even better. The most important thing here is to be thorough, getting into all the ridges, nooks and crannies. There is no need to be pretty in this part just slop the mixture into the tins and pop in the oven.

before and after

Oooo look how yummy they look!! I’m not very good with straight lines so the cutting the tops off was a little wonky! It is a little tricky. The icing is easy peasey too! Almost seems like a cheat for GBBO final week. To make delicious carrot cake icing all you need is cream cheese, double cream, icing sugar and vanilla essence. Whisk all the ingredients up until you get semi stiff peaks and then pipe or smear onto the cakes. Tops and sides. I think the loose crumbs add some character and not the other way around.Glowing

Fake flames anyone? Feel a little of hunger games inspiration coming along. I was also inspired by Tamal’s amazing sugar work and even without a sugar thermometer decided a give it a go. Tricky but not impossible. First lesson? The turn is very quick! My first half were great by the time I get to the second the caramel was a little burnt smelling but still looks good. I placed some toothpicks in the centre half way through pouring the caramel so that I can stick the flames into the top if the cakes. Work way better than I expected and pleasantly surprised. Unlike Tamal the weather was not on my side and oh my word does it make a difference! By the time I finished icing all the cakes the flames had turned sticky and bubbly – and this continue to deteriorate. Lesson learnt – when confident enough do the flames as close to the end/serving time so that they look and taste their best.Frm behind

There is no next week but visit again and see what other wonderful concoctions I have taken on.

One thought on “Carrot Cake Candles

Leave a Reply

