Homemade traditional pork pies with jelly

Week seven in the Bake Off tent – VICTORIAN WEEK!

Well GBBO are you running out of categories or what! Who the heck wants to try to bake something Victorian!? That’s a rhetorical question, but if you need an answer, it’s no-one. I can’t say I’m excited by the challenge but I shall grip it by the horns and see how we get along. I’ll kick everything off with an apology for this being a late post but I was away for the weekend and Victorian baking (VICTORIAN WHY?!)  wasn’t high on the agenda. Never one to skip out a task I thought I would just sneak it into this week.

I loved pastry week and I love pie and I love meat…you know where this is going? It’s a game pie kind of feeling. There is only one hiccup with attempting a game pie, where to find the game! So I’ve used some artistic license and switched it up for a classic pork pie. They both are raised pies which use hot watercrust pastry, a meat jelly and errr meat so pretty much the same concept and I’m sure it was a Victorian favourite too!

Individual pork pie 1

I used this basic recipe from good old Jamie for the pastry and filling though swapped the thyme for parsley. I’m sure my parsley plant is killing off the thyme one. I also had to add in a couple more sausages to make enough filling for the three individual pies (muffin case) and one medium pie (six inch loose bottom tin). Oh and I’m lard kind of girl.

Evaluation? Oh okay then.

I really need to get better at finishing reading a recipe before diving in only knowing half the steps. It was all lovely to start with and then WHAM do this this this and this before the pastry gets cold! Just as well I had the kitchen to myself as I had things on every surface including the floor!

Making the pastry itself was a surprising doddle. Getting the pastry rolled was a relieving doddle. Putting the pastry into the cases was an absolute shamble! I didn’t cookie cutters big enough for the muffin tins so ended up cutting vaguely large vague circles to squeeze in and then trimmed them up. Having nails also meant while trying the squish out all the air holes I kept making actual holes, which would lead to leakage! The larger tin was SO much easier. I rolled this out separately and felt more like making a flan. I did nick the bottom so had to do a little patch work on that. Because it was a watercrust pastry the cooler it got the harder to handle so it was quite tricky cutting out the lids and making sure that they bonded properly to the cups. The filling couldn’t be easier, my only note would be to make more than you think you need and have it ready before you even get started on the pastry.Inside a homemade pork pie

The Victorian pies are very ornate and I was hoping to make something quite beautiful alas ran out of time and sanity meaning the looks leave something to be desired. I see it as something to work towards in future pork pie endeavours.Creation of the pork pies

Because I am a worry wart I was terrified of taking the pies out too early, the pork could be uncooked, the pastry too soft and thus cause a collapse so many issues so I opted to over cook to be sure. Jamie also didn’t give any timings for the bigger pie so you need to know your oven pretty well. Everything cooked well and I love my pastry to have a bit of crunch so I decree all is well!

To make the jelly I stirred one packet of gelatine into 1 pint of hot chicken stock (according to the packet instructions). When the pies were out of the oven I poured the jelly mix into the hole. The jelly set perfectly which amazed me however unfortunately I did not fill the pies nearly enough so most of it looks to have been absorbed and only a little shows around the edges. I made some separate jelly which can be added to individual personal preference.

Star taster this week goes to ME! I don’t think anyone could love them as much as I did. Defiantly going to be making these again for picnics!

Sorry for such a long and rambling post but that’s it until next week!

Leave a Reply

