Christmas Tree Doorstop

December is disappearing! And if you know me, I have been a lot of talk of about crafts and challenges and not that much doing! So enough is enough – time to announce my 12 days of Christmas Challenge. Remember that song, just about?

So we shall kick off with…

…On the first day of Christmas my true love sent to me…

… A CHRISTMAS TREE DOORSTOP!

Doorstop bannerI had this great fabric (from who knows where) which I have been hanging onto. It is one of those rather old fashioned frilly curtain top thing-a-ma-jigs. So long and narrow, though when unpicking the seam a got a lot more width. It’s green and with great texture – perfect to make into Christmas decorations! P.s. this is a Christmas present so shhhh.

Crumpet Corner Christmas tree door stop

I decided to go for a triangular prism as then there would be less fabric meeting in the top corner. Plus I think it makes it look most tree-y. Math was never a strong suit and it took me a while to get the equilateral triangle just right. You can use whatever method you like (compass/protractor) but I’ll tell you the cack-handed way I did it:Pattern
I started with making a card template using an old cereal box. I drew a couple triangles and settled that 21cm would be ideal – you could stretch it to a little longer but not any less if you want it to be big enough to hold a door open. So I drew my bottom line (21cm) and marked half way (10.5cm for those who are even worse at math than me). Mark the half way line straight up for a fair bit. Now draw a line to connect your end points of the bottom line to meet the middle line at 21cm. If you check the angles with a protractor they should all be 90 degree or close by.

Christmas Tree Doorstop

Because I had a long thin wad of fabric I cut all 4 of the triangles separately. Sewing it all up is the tricky part, and I just winged it! Simply pin the right sides together – all 3 side pieces to the base piece (depending on your fabric it might not matter) and sew – leaving the seam allowanceChristmas tree door stop - view from above2 unsewn at the corners. Then sew each side together starting at the base where the stitching ends at the point of the seam allowance. Only sew half way when on the last seam so you can turn fabric the right way around and stuff. Clip the seam allowance on the corners to help them get a nice shape when inverted.

I decided to stuff mine with rice (1kg), because it’s cheap and easy to get a hold of, I did about half full, then the rest with stuffing (an old teddy) so that it would keep its shape. I added a gold/yellow loop at the top (in my head it kind of works like a star) and a brown felt loop (trunk) to finish it off.

Leave a Reply

