Day 3 of a Pin a Day Challenge

sweet potato quinoa balls

Day three of the challenge and I am back on the metaphorical horse and with something that smells yummy! I remember when I first discovered sweet potato in my first year at University and what a shock it was to see my housemate digging into a bowl of bright orange mush that smelt delicious! From that day on I have never looked back and I have even convinced my mother that is indeed a real food!

I have quite a few sweet potato pins dotted around my foodies board on Pinterest and they are all mouth-watering (especially turning them into crisps)! In the fashion of this challenge I am going to go for the pin that I would normally be a little too nervous to try from Dash of East, Sweet Potato Quinoa Balls.

Sweet Potato Quinoa Balls. CrumpetCorner

The original recipe uses a slow cooker, I unfortunately am not that well endowed so cooked my potato in the microwave since it is so quick and going to get mashed up anyway! It worked out just fine but if you have the equipment you may as well use it ;). Admittedly I also had to google Panko in the ingredients list, had a quick wiz around Sainsbury’s and it turned up next to your bog standard breadcrumbs.Ingredients for Sweet Potato Quinoa BallsNow for the cooking part:

One. At this point you can use a slow cooker is you have one otherwise (go to the original post for instructions), place the sweet potato in a bowl of water and pop it in the microwave for 10 minutes. If you are not sure if it is ready poke it with a knife to see if it is soft all the way through. Remove it from the microwave and the bowl of water and set aside to cool. I didn’t poke the outside (controversial I feel) because it was in a water bath and I didn’t turn them at all either. Worked out fine for me.

Two. Preheat oven to 350 F/ 180C. Coat bottom of a glass baking pan with the oil, then place the pan in the oven while it’s preheating.

Three. In a medium bowl mix all the ingredients together until well combined. I was going to use my hands but my potato was still a little warm so a wooden spoon got to have all the fun instead. Divide the mixture into 6 even portions, and form into golf ball sized balls. I ended up making 10 out of my mixure – just keep the size the same.

Four. Pull the hot glass baking pan out of the oven and place the sweet potato balls into the pan. Cover the pan with aluminium foil, return to the oven and bake for 25 minutes.

Five. Remove the pan from the oven and eat the little balls of paradise!

Leave a Reply

