Sunshine Bread

Today is planned to be DAY 3 of the a Pin a Day Challenge however I was treated to wonderful day out at the Cotswolds Wildlife Park with my mum, brother and nephew which I couldn’t possibly turn down. A ring tailed lemur jumped on my head. It was not a completely pleasant experience. Back to the point – I have not had a chance to do a mini project but fear not I still have something to offer!

A girl called Jack recipe book

The Black Eyed Peas song “I Gotta Feeling” just came on the radio and as I was “singing” Tonight’s going to be a good NIIIGGHHT I thought YES it will! Why? Because I realised tonight The Great British Bake Off is on TV and it is BREAD WEEK! To honour such an event I am going to share with you one of my new favourite bread recipes from Jack Monroe. I love her book but she also has a great blog with loads more of her recipes if you don’t have the privilege of owning/buying a book for yourself.

This bread is named Sunshine Bread as it has great colour and you just can’t be in a bad mood baking or eating this one. I love fruit bread and was surprised to find a recipe using pineapple (and juice!) as well as the more traditional sultanas/raisins combination. It is perfect when warm out of the oven with a dab of butter on top and also delicious lightly toasted for breakfast the next morning.

Unfortunately I don’t have any photo’s myself! Shoddy blogging I know but you’ll just have to settle for the recipe below. This is taken directly from the book and for full disclosure has not been developed (though thoroughly tasted) by me.

Sunshine bread

Bake up a loaf and dig in while watching the Bake Off and be proud that you could probably, hopefully, well maybe give them a run for their money. I promise to be back on the horse tomorrow and just to make up for it I will try and sqeeze in day 3 & 4 of the a Pin a Day Challenge!

Leave a Reply

